# Best shiitake plug spawn and what you need to inoculate a log

Source: https://spawnrun.com/best/best-shiitake-plug-spawn
Publisher: Spawn Run. Picks are chosen from what each Amazon listing states, not from hands-on tests. Method: https://spawnrun.com/how-we-pick

Shiitake plug spawn is short wooden dowels colonized with shiitake mycelium (spawn is the living culture you put into the wood). You drill holes in a fresh hardwood log, tap a plug into each one and seal it with wax. The usual rule is 30 to 50 holes per 3 to 4 foot log, so 100 plugs cover about two or three logs, and one seller here says 1 to 2. What differs between listings is the plug count and what comes with it. Bare plug packs leave you to buy the three add-ons people forget: a 5/16 inch drill bit for holes 1 to 1.25 inches deep, sealing wax, and a dauber to apply it. Kits add some of these, and none of the listings below mentions a stop collar for the bit. Plugs keep about 6 months in the refrigerator, and the spawn run (the colonization of the log) takes about a year before the first shiitake. This guide compares six listings by plug count, species and whether wax or a drill bit is included, using only what the listings state.

## Picks

### 1. North Spore Organic Shiitake Mushroom Plug Spawn for Logs, 100 ct

Plug count: 100; Species: Shiitake; Wax: not stated; Drill bit or stop collar: not stated

A bare pack of 100 organic shiitake plugs for logs. The listing says 100 count packs are usually enough for 1 to 2 logs and that plugs need only a hammer and some wax.

What the listing offers:
- Listing states 100 count plug spawn packs are usually enough for 1 to 2 logs.
- Seller describes plug spawn as resilient and economical for small projects, needing only a hammer and some wax.
- Sold as organic, with the spawn produced in house in Maine according to the listing.

Limits to know:
- Plugs only: the listing does not list wax, a dauber or a drill bit as part of the pack.
- The listing gives no storage time, strain name or colonization time for the plugs.

### 2. North Spore Organic Shiitake Mushroom Plugs for Logs, 500 ct

Plug count: 500; Species: Shiitake; Wax: not stated; Drill bit or stop collar: not stated

The 500 count pack of the same North Spore organic shiitake plugs. At the usual 30 to 50 holes per log it covers roughly 10 to 16 logs, a stack for a household rather than a single trial log.

What the listing offers:
- 500 plugs in one pack, five times the 100 count size of the same organic shiitake plug spawn.
- Listing says plug spawn needs minimal tools: only a hammer and some wax.
- Spawn is produced in house in Maine, according to the listing.

Limits to know:
- The bullets describe the 100 count pack and give no log estimate for 500 plugs.
- Wax, a dauber and a drill bit are not listed as included, and a pack this size only makes sense with a stack of fresh logs ready.

### 3. North Spore Log Spawn Bundle, 500 ct of Shiitake, Lion's Mane, Blue Oyster

Plug count: 3 x 500 (1,500 total); Species: Shiitake/lion's mane/oyster; Wax: Yes, plus applicators; Drill bit or stop collar: Drill bit, no collar stated

A bundle of three 500 ct plug spawn packs, shiitake, lion's mane and blue oyster, with a drill bit, log sealing wax, wax applicators and an instruction guide. Only a third of the plugs are shiitake.

What the listing offers:
- Contents listed: a drill bit, log sealing wax, wax applicators, three 500 ct plug spawn packs and an instruction guide.
- The only listing in this guide that includes a drill bit along with the wax and applicators.
- Seller states plug spawn can be refrigerated for up to 6 months and logs take about 12 months to colonize.

Limits to know:
- Only 500 of the plugs are shiitake: the rest are lion's mane and blue oyster, which need their own logs.
- A large bundle: three 500 ct packs call for dozens of fresh logs within the storage time.

### 4. 50 count Shiitake Plug Spawn

Plug count: 50; Species: Shiitake; Wax: not stated; Drill bit or stop collar: not stated

A small pack of 50 shiitake plugs with inoculation instructions. By the usual rule of 30 to 50 holes per log it is enough for one log, which suits a first try.

What the listing offers:
- 50 count pack of shiitake plugs, the smallest size in this guide and enough for a single log.
- Inoculation instructions are included, according to the listing.
- Seller describes the culture as fast running shiitake mycelium.

Limits to know:
- The listing does not state the dowel size, a strain name or how long the plugs keep.
- No wax or drill bit is listed, and 50 plugs leave nothing spare for a second log.

### 5. North Spore Shiitake Log Inoculation Mushroom Grow Kit, 100 ct Plugs

Plug count: 100; Species: Shiitake; Wax: Yes, plus 4 applicators; Drill bit or stop collar: Not in contents list

The do it yourself route: 100 shiitake plugs with log sealing wax, 4 wax applicators and an instruction guide. You cut and drill your own hardwood log, and the listing gives about 12 months for it to colonize.

What the listing offers:
- Kit contains log sealing wax, 4 wax applicators, 100 ct plug spawn and an instruction guide.
- Listing names suitable wood, including oak, hard maple, beech, sweetgum and birch.
- Seller states the plug spawn can be refrigerated for up to 6 months before use.

Limits to know:
- No log is included and none arrives inoculated: you need a freshly cut hardwood log and a drill.
- The listing says a log takes approximately 12 months to colonize, so the first shiitake are about a year away.

### 6. Shiitake mushroom plug spawn 100x

Plug count: 100; Species: Shiitake; Wax: not stated; Drill bit or stop collar: not stated

An unbranded pack sold as shiitake mushroom plug spawn 100x. The title is the whole listing: a count and a species, with no bullets to compare against the other packs.

What the listing offers:
- The title states the species and form plainly: shiitake mushroom plug spawn.
- 100 plugs, the same count as the common 100 ct packs and about two logs at 30 to 50 holes per log.
- A bare plug pack, so it fits a buyer who already owns a 5/16 inch bit, wax and a dauber.

Limits to know:
- The listing has no feature bullets: no dowel size, strain, storage time or instructions are stated.
- Sold under a generic brand, so the maker of the spawn is not named.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.